Dubai Museum

Last weekend we traveled down to Dubai Creek. We checked out the spice and gold souks (like on Sex and the City 2 – sorry Amy – no sight of Aiden). I thought they were extremely stressful. The shopkeepers would run after me, throwing a scarf on my shoulder yelling, “pashmina miss! Good price!”. I actually really liked one, asked the price, which he replied was 150 durhams (about $38). I thought that was high and said I’d ask my husband and walked off. He followed me for about a block trying to talk me into it. I almost started crying!! When I caught up with Shawn I asked him why he had left me. He said, “I wanted to see how you’d do.” We both busted out laughing. Clearly a big fat fail!

While Clare napped that day we strolled around the Dubai Museum. It was basically a history of Dubai. I thought it wouldn’t be that great but it was actually interesting. The coolest thing I saw was an exhibit showing pearl diving. This was one of the major jobs of people here back in the 1800s- about 1950. The divers wore a nose clip and dove straight down into the ocean holding a brick to sink quickly. They stayed down for up to 3 minutes at a time and came back up with pearls. How did they not breathe for that long?

Best part of the museum was Clare napped for an hour.

We also enjoyed lunch at an Arabian Tea Room. Omg the scones with jam and clotted cream were insane!!!!!

20140101-075320.jpg

20140101-075351.jpg

20140101-075413.jpg

20140101-075426.jpg

20140101-075434.jpg

4 thoughts on “Dubai Museum

  1. Love hearing about your adventures. That would be freaky getting chased. You must have looked like a rich tourist. Convenient that Clare had a pillow while you had lunch.

  2. My Aiden is named after the Sex and the City Aiden. He was the perfect guy. 🙂 I am loving all of your adventures but girl how did you sleep thru that fireworks display on New years eve? 🙂

  3. I love hearing about your days there-would not have enjoyed being chased down for a sale!….unless a really good bargain!.

Leave a comment